Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife just got me a pair of Shimano SH-R240s ($300 for the pair) for father's day. I am currently riding a pair of plastic Nike shoes with three straps. Should I keep them, or return them and spend the money on something else? Will I really see an improvement of speed etc?

·
Adventure Seeker
5,123 Posts
I've been using cheap pearl izumi shoes for over two years. Just tried on some r132's and noticed how they're way more comfortable and hold my foot much more secure. This will yield less fatigue and hot foot.
Try them on. If you can tell a big difference, keep them. If you can't , and are happy with what you have, exchange them.

·
Registered
756 Posts
You might not see any improvement in speed, but supposedly the strap ergonomics on those Shimano shoes are supposed to be more secure and comfortable. Also, the soles are magical carbon fiber composite which should remain stiff and give better power transfer versus cheaper nylon plastic soles which will eventually bend over time. But if you already love the shoes you have and the wife won't object, you might could get something more useful by exchanging them...

·
Resident Curmudgeon
13,390 Posts
IME Shimanos are excellent shoes. Comfy, very durable, look good, & the full CF sole just can't be beat.

·
Registered
151 Posts
milkbaby said:
You might not see any improvement in speed, but supposedly the strap ergonomics on those Shimano shoes are supposed to be more secure and comfortable. Also, the soles are magical carbon fiber composite which should remain stiff and give better power transfer versus cheaper nylon plastic soles which will eventually bend over time.
+1 :thumbsup:

·
Registered
6,030 Posts