Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· ProtoJ
85 Posts
I'm an expert at this.....

I'm the most anal bike nerd you will ever find. I clean my bikes after every ride and my bikes end up looking new forever! Here is what I do:

1. If the bike is really dusty, I use compressed air or canned air to first remove the dust.
2. I wipe down the bike and parts with a bucket of warm water and Mothers car wash soap. I use a microfiber cloth for this to prevent scratching anything. I have never had a hose come anywhere near my bikes.....not even a muddy mountain bike. My LBS always teases me that my bikes looker cleaner than the ones on the showroom floor.
3. I used to use Pedros Bike Lust, but I am back to using Lemon Pledge again. It works really nice w/ a micro fiber cloth. It especially shines up carbon!
4. I even go as far as to not mix my cloths and rags from one bike to another.
5. I have a Gios compact pro that has a really delicate high gloss paint job that scratches when you look at it. I use one coat of Mother's carnuba wax on it and then touch it up with Pledge.
6. Q-tips work good for hard to reach area like inside the front/rear derailluer.
7. I also use the Park Chain Cleaner contraption every 400 miles or so. Some people on these forums have said this is bad for the chain. But it keeps mine nice and shiny and I replace chains before they are worn anyway.
8. My Shimano pedal/cleat interface started creaking, so I sprayed my cleats with pledge. No more creaks. Pledge is my answer to everything.

I know I have a sickness and need help, but my bikes are clean and last forever.

· Use my Apps :)
1,010 Posts
If you wax your frame don't use dish soap. Even if you don't use any wax then dish soap and windex is still much, much, more aggressive then you need.