Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been cycling for almost 15 years. I am about to buy my first set of clipless pedals for a road bike, believe it or not. I was looking at Shimano's Ultegra pedals and cleats for about $70. Can anyone explain to me if that's a good price and/or what I should be looking for and spending, for the best value, but also something I can grow into over the years? My riding level is at least intermediate and I currently and intend to ride 50-100 miles a week, including LBS rides, charity rides, and occasional races. I also could use advice on shoes. I know the more expensive they are, usually the better they are, etc. I am also looking for why things are more expensive and what values I should consider if I go outside of my budget.

Thanks,

·
monkey with flamethrower
821 Posts
Personally I don't think that the Shimano road or Look style pedal is that easy to learn on. I would recommend a mountain bike pedal, something like the pd970 from Shimano with a nice mountain bike shoe. It'll be easier to clip into and the shoes are actually walkable. You won't lose anything with a mtb setup other than the snob factor that road stuff has.
But if you are set on a road setup I would recomend one of the many Speedplay models or Time pedals. The double sided entry is very nice with the Speedplay although you can't walk around very well with the cleats.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,019 Posts
IndianMillsBoy said: