Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

· Registered
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all,

I've been riding bikes the past few days at LBS. I ordered a Cannondale yesterday then when I went in today the owner wanted me to ride a Colnago CLX that arrived today.

I liked it better; felt more stable and like it held a line better.

My issue is that I am a newbie (riding an old oversized bike one month) and I am not sure I need this much bike.

Has anyone purchased the CLX as your first bike?

What are the general impressions and will it be changing anytime soon?

Also, I am 194 pounds solid so I am not losing weight; will this bike support me? I'm afraid the carbon seat post might break because another rider was telling me his did. (Bontrager - heavier guy)

I really like the bike; just afraid it would be too much for me. On the other hand if it last me 10 years that would be great.

Thank You all in advance.

· Registered
66 Posts
Your CLX will last you 20 yars if you take care of if. The crcked seat post...only on cheaper products - that is one of the reasons why Colnago has a higher price - choice of better raw materials. I amd riding a CLX - it is an impressive bike, espicially the CLX Centaur in white....have fun!

· Registered
39 Posts
Clx

I bought my CLX chorus in early spring. It was my second bike after getting a cheap one the year before. I love mine, and probably appreciate it more since I did have a cheap one first.
The real question is how serious are you about cycling? :idea: If this is your sport/hobbie then by all means look at a CLX centaur. It will be a fabulous bike and will give you an amazing amount of performance for the cost. Colnago is an established company with a track record of quality products.
I still love just looking at the thing when I am not actually riding. :8: And I love it even more when riding it! :cornut:

· Registered
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
tschramm said: