Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
594 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not sure how many people on here that area also Bicycle Colorado members or on their email list; if you aren't or otherwise don't know - there is a bill (sb 148) that is currently at the State house that will improve bicycle safety in several areas. the bill passed the state senate and is now up for vote as soon as Friday in the state house. It barely passed the house transportation committee so it is expected to have a fight on the floor; if you are a Colorado resident (and registered to vote) and you care about this bill, it would probably be a good idea to let your state (not federal) representatives know.

Here is a link to the Bicycle Colorado page about this

·
Registered
2,604 Posts
Even though I'm a Texas resident, I belong to Bicycle Colorado since I ride there as often as possible.

And I just received that e-mail.

Not surprising who is opposing this bill.

We have a similar bill in progress down here. It'll be interesting to see what happens.

Since there are some major bike tours and obviously tourist considerations for the state, it's a shame some of those organizations aren't seriously supporting the bill.

The Denver Post alone should be all over it.

·
Still waiting......
1,321 Posts
There seems to be 4 parts to this bill - 3 feet to pass, clarifying "right to the right", clarifying the side by side law, and anti-harassment.

I'm all for the clarifications. The other two, I'm not so sure about.

I hate to admit it, but I'm a bit on Larimer Counties wonderful Sheriff Alderden on this one. How is it possible to enforce the 3 foot rule? I'll profess ignorance here, but if one were to get a ticket for not allowing 3 feet, how could it possibly hold up in court unless contact was made? As for the anti-harassment portion, it just seems like most of these would come down to he-said she-said and come to nothing.