Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to ask riders who had achilled tedon tear/rapture , who had surgery for repair - how long did it take for you to ride again.
i raptured my left achilles tendon may 18 playing basketbal and im just wondering how long do i have to endure as i cant do much and cant wait to something....

·
Reality Star
930 Posts
Either with or without surgery you are looking at 3 months in a cast. I ruptured mine 2 years ago playing tennis and did not do surgery because of the rate of major complications. The outcomes between the two are statistically equal.

Once out of the cast I tried my MTB and WHOA, it did feel scary. So, I did some research and found that road biking was good rehab for the Achilles and I am now a noob roadie ! I am equally passionate about both types of cycling.

You will have calf muscle atrophy which probably will be permanent but not disabling. Work with your physical therapist .

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Don Duende said:
Either with or without surgery you are looking at 3 months in a cast. I ruptured mine 2 years ago playing tennis and did not do surgery because of the rate of major complications. The outcomes between the two are statistically equal.

Once out of the cast I tried my MTB and WHOA, it did feel scary. So, I did some research and found that road biking was good rehab for the Achilles and I am now a noob roadie ! I am equally passionate about both types of cycling.

You will have calf muscle atrophy which probably will be permanent but not disabling. Work with your physical therapist .
tnx for the reply.