Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks for taking the time to read my post.

I recently started riding my bike, well my friends surly crosscheck to work and would like to purchase a commuter bike. The commute to work is around 40 miles round trip with some decent hills in the beginning of the ride with the rest being flat. The bike would only be used for commutting or possibly touring in the future.

I would like the bike to have the following:
-Drop handlebars
-Rear rack
-fit a wheel with 700x28c tires plus fender
-~$550

I have been looking at the Surly Crosscheck, Surly longhaul trucker and the salsa casseroll. Saldy I haven't found anything in my price range.

Any recommendations?

Thanks for the help in advance

-Lovestocycle

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
Well, you can put a rack on almost anything, so your requirements really boil down to a road bike with adequate tire clearance. There are quite a few of those, but it might be pretty hard to find something new in that price range. I don't know where you live, but maybe Craig's List is the place to start. And check all the local bike shops for used or clearance bikes.

That's an impressively long commute. Good for you.

·
Registered
303 Posts
for that range, you're probably looking at something used in the touring or cyclo-cross category. Of course, PJ will probably choke me for suggesting this, but your other option is to take a fitness bike with a triple crank and changing out the flat bars and shifters. A good LBS should be able to work with you on that. I'd probably go with a used bike before making all those changes though. From the bikes you suggested, it seems that you already appreciate the benefits of steel over aluminum, but I'd think that with 28mm tires aluminum would be OK.