Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5,627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This last spring I finished my masters degree in library science, and since then have been looking for a job in a local library. Unfortunately, I would fall under the theorectically sound, practically challenged heading for library work as I have no previous paid library experience. And it seems that it is experience that counts more for anything within this profession.

I have had several interviews that have led to nothing at libraries within a 20 mile radius of Louisville. For various reasons I am committed to remaining in the area (you know, house, family, etc).

This lack of being able to find employement has been needless to say rather frustrating and annoying (not that I have done the greatest job of trying to see myself - not in that way, preverts :D ). Recently, 2 reference positions at academic libraries have opened up, but both are about 2 hours away.

So, anyway, the advice/info I am seeking here is (yes, I know, very scary to try and rely on RBR NCD crew for advice), what do people consider a livable commute and if they have one, what effect does it have on the rest of their lives?

·
Back from the dead
20,626 Posts
I had a 30-mile one-way commute, 60 miles total, for several years. It took anywhere from 30 minutes to 90 minutes, depending on traffic and time of day. It sucks, and I'll never do that again. I got into a carpool for part of it, but even that becomes annoying after a while. I ended up quitting my job and getting one that was less than three miles from my home, and even after I moved, I'm only about six miles away.