Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been cycling pretty strong since 14 years old (20 years+). The last four years right near racing level. (Fifteen hours/week)

I had a Orbea Orca and a pimped Ridley Excalibur until a year ago. I thought I would have a hobby career change. I fire sale'd all my bike stuff. The new change did not pan out.

I'm back in cycling full bore, after almost two years off. I bought a Competitive Cyclist's Ridley Compact two weeks ago. I see now the Easton wheels are bottom of the line. I want to replace them with Mavic Ksyerium SL's.

I also need a seatpost with some setback. I might get a carbon one and a new carbon stem as well, to cushion bumps out.

Aside from a computer in the coming weeks (Garmin 705), I'm thinking this will be it for upgrades on this bike.

Is it too much to spend on this level of bike, or should I start looking at a new ride (IE Ridley Noah/Zipps/SRAM Red)?

·
Registered
890 Posts
rsosborn said:
The last four years right near racing level. (Fifteen hours/week)
15 hours /week is a very distant "near"

rsosborn said:
I'm back in cycling full bore. I bought a Competitive Cyclist's Ridley Compact two weeks ago. I see now the Easton wheels are bottom of the line. I want to replace them with Mavic Ksyerium SL's.
The Ksyriums aren't that great of wheel. They are neither overly light nor aero nor inexpensive.

rsosborn said:
I also need a seatpost with some setback. I might get a carbon one and a new carbon stem as well, to cushion bumps out.
Carbon materials won't necessarily cushion bumps out. The diameter of the seatpost/amount of seatpost out of the frame matters more than the material in terms of stiffness

rsosborn said:
Is it too much to spend on this level of bike, or should I start looking at a new ride (IE Ridley Noah/Zipps/SRAM Red)?
The Compact is just as race-worthy as the other Ridleys.