Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To start, I admit that I am new to the world of road bikes, and I have what will probably be considered a fairly stupid question, but just the same... I am looking into a couple bikes and most of them are offering mostly ultegra 6600 10 spd components, but not a ultegra (or even shimano) crank, it is either a FSA or Truvativ crank. A friend of mine who is a diehard cyclist says that this presents a problem as shimano components will work best with a shimano crank, and I would like to complete the gruppo, but is it that big of an issue that I need to upgrade right away? Or will that potentially hurt my other components? Thanks for any help on the issue

· Registered
3,866 Posts
Wish I had the right answer... I don't use Shimano, both my bikes are Campy. I would imagine that they use different cranks is to lower the price. I've heard/read/seen a few of the FSA cranks breaking, don't know which model. No clue on Truvativ. I did replace my Campy chainrings on my old bike with Stronglight as I could get two Stronglight chainrings for the price of one Campy. I notice no difference. I think the important thing is if they are warrantied.

· Registered
21,864 Posts
Plus and minus

nailjohnj said:
To start, I admit that I am new to the world of road bikes, and I have what will probably be considered a fairly stupid question, but just the same... I am looking into a couple bikes and most of them are offering mostly ultegra 6600 10 spd components, but not a ultegra (or even shimano) crank, it is either a FSA or Truvativ crank. A friend of mine who is a diehard cyclist says that this presents a problem as shimano components will work best with a shimano crank, and I would like to complete the gruppo, but is it that big of an issue that I need to upgrade right away? Or will that potentially hurt my other components? Thanks for any help on the issue