Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody,
I am rather new to the whole road bike gig, and am looking at doing a build with a steel Seven frame (in a little while), and I have a couple of questions:

1) First question:
I would prefer standard road geometry, and although I am not plotting on doing hardcore cyclocross (ie racing), I would still like the bike to have the durability to do the occasional fire-road/gravel path excursion. Aside of the weight and different rake, what would be the pros and cons of using a CX fork on a road bike?

2) Next question:
An eight speed setup is what would I would prefer, but is there such a thing as a high quality 8-speed cassette, one that would aid shifting more so than a uber-ultra 9 speed cassette? And, also, if I was using friction shifters, I could use a derailleur made for more speeds than I had (like a 10-speed derailleur with an 8-speed cassette), correct?

3) Almost done:
I will probably be running either down tube or bar end shifters. I know that for mountain bikes, Avid, as well as a few other brands, makes these clever little brake levers where you can easily adjust the leverage ratio. Is there an equivalent, only-the-brake-lever, of those for road bike world?

4) Last question, I promise:
Does anybody have experience with the DT Swiss RR 1.2 rims?

If nothing else, thanks for taking the time to read a bunch of newbie questions!

David

· Registered
777 Posts
1) First question:
I would prefer standard road geometry, and although I am not plotting on doing hardcore cyclocross (ie racing), I would still like the bike to have the durability to do the occasional fire-road/gravel path excursion. Aside of the weight and different rake, what would be the pros and cons of using a CX fork on a road bike?