Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One thing that has irked me since I started riding (only a little over a year ago tbh) is the redundancy of bike computers and lack of sensor support to connect smart phones.
My background: I ride about 2x/ week — once for fun about 40mi or so, and once to commute to/from work about 13.5mi each way. When I started, my moving pace solo was a slow 16-17mph but I’m up to 19-20mph now. This morning I had no problem keeping up with a group at 23mph on my 2007 Specialized Sequoia which was by far the oldest and least expensive bike there.

What I’d love to see: is a smartphone app that can connect to a power meter, cadence or speed sensors, shifters, rear view radar, heart rate monitor, etc.

What we have: bike computers that can connect to all these things using the same tech smart phones have built in. We still have to carry our smartphones though.

Excuse I hear: smart phone battery life sux

Reality: smart phone battery lasts many hours using gps as well as the rest of the day. Bluetooth tech has also vastly improved in its range, reliability, and power consumption.

Maybe it has to do with smart phones actually having relatively short battery life until recently and tech just hasn’t had reason to catch up? Maybe Garmin, Wahoo, etc sell enough hardware they have no interest in losing that business?