Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding and racing on Dura Ace for over 17 years. I've gone through over six iterations of the group and still even have my first set of brakes. My most recent group was 7800 and it still works fine, but is now being sold on Ebay.

I used to tell my friends all things being equal I wanted campy. Problem was, all things weren't equal. Shimano was just that much less expensive. It might not have looked the best, or the worst, but it worked and I didn't have to adjust too many items. Nothing I hated, but nothing I really loved.

Before I get into campy - a little about me as a rider. I raced CAT II, so I am/was fast, but not super strong. I have to travel for work and sometimes I bring my bike and do whatever group ride I can find. I've done this in CT, LA, NYC, Seattle and a few other places. I tend to keep to myself and prefer not to wear my team kit and just be there at the end and let me legs do the talking. At 6 foot 3 inches I'm a rider that everyone tries to get behind so I find myself in the front more often than I'd like.