Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
520 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well, i've got an old aluminum cdale 2.8... massive baseball-bat tubing, that i really love, but don't really want to build up again as a geared roady. so! i was wondering how difficult it would be/ what would be required to turn it into a fixed gear? i know it's not too outlandish an idea, because i've seen some 2.8's and 3.0 made into fixies on the web, just wondering how difficult/pricey it would be. thanks all!

·
Registered
520 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
roadfix said:
With and eccentric hub you can do anything to that bike.

so it's a axle-mount hub? any idea on the sizing a bike like that would take. im very new to all this and not terribly knowledgeable (ok, not knowledgeable) in the field of hubs, tensioners, etc... would there be anything else i would need to make the conversion beside this hub?

·
Registered
14,776 Posts
The vertical dropouts are the only limiting feature, and as roadfix said, you can deal with that by means of an eccentric hub. You can probably do it with a half-link for the chain, and it would be even cheaper. As for cost, the mimimum purchase is a rear hub and a cog, maybe some short chainring bolts. If your new hub has the same flange dimensions as the old one, you can even re-use the spokes when you rebuild the rear wheel.

Here's the standard guide to the subject:
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/fixed-conversion.html