Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for suggestions for a pair of full finger gloves for riding in temperatures around 35-55F. Simple!

·
duh...
9,658 Posts
that's a wide range of temps... also depends on if you're 'cold-handed' or not. at the warmer end you might look at long-fingered mtn bike gloves, minimal insulation. at the colder end you prob want something w/ a windproof layer

·
Registered
2,655 Posts
As FTF notes, it depends

I've been using Assos Isotex gloves for the last 9 years and the range they work best in for me is 40-55F. Above, I wear normal mitts, below, a pair of Gore gloves with insulation.

The Isotex have been out of production for a while but are basically windtex with really light fleece backing. Campagnolo makes similar type gloves as do Castelli, Pearizumi and many others.

When riding, I just need something to keep the wind off my hands as they heat up on their own quite nicely. Others might not find this sort of glove to be sufficient.

lucky13 said:
I am looking for suggestions for a pair of full finger gloves for riding in temperatures around 35-55F. Simple!

·
Boobies!
8,172 Posts
I've been using the Campy Textran (light-ish & windproof) for 40-60 degree days & a pair of the Campy Pittard leather for colder days.

The latter fit a little closer than I would like, although they are great gloves. The Textran seem to run pretty close to US sizing.

I think I got them cheap at Chicago bikes when they were dumping their winter gear last spring...but I'm not color-matched which causes certain NYC riders to recoil in horror as I pass...

·
Registered
1,146 Posts
I have been using the Specialized BG Descent gloves for cold weather riding. They are wind proof, but do not have insulation - perfect for days down to about 30* F. Been using the same pair the past 2 winters - great gloves, IMHO.

YMMV.

·
Registered
14,713 Posts