Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I could use a little help with my new SS road bike. I’m new to the SS road bike thing but have been ridding SS Mt. Bikes for several years which is why I went with the SS road bike. My question is… Why did my 57cm bike come with 172.5 cranks??? As do most track bikes in this size come with. I don’t get it :confused: why the shorter crank and should I keep the shorter crank or go with the NORMAL 175?

My intended use for the bike is on use SS road biking only, no track duty. The bike is Jamis Sputnik which I have added brakes to and added a 16t rear cog.

Please enlighten me with your experiences in this matter

·
I've felt the Felt
42 Posts
It seems as though many SS bikes come with them because they also come with a flip flop hub if you wanted to try it fixed. Long crank arms on a fixed in a tight corner is disastrous. Just speculation, but I think it has merit.

·
Hide Age and DOB
834 Posts
You have it a bit backwards

onespeedwonder said:
I could use a little help with my new SS road bike. I’m new to the SS road bike thing but have been ridding SS Mt. Bikes for several years which is why I went with the SS road bike. My question is… Why did my 57cm bike come with 172.5 cranks??? As do most track bikes in this size come with. I don’t get it :confused: why the shorter crank and should I keep the shorter crank or go with the NORMAL 175?

My intended use for the bike is on use SS road biking only, no track duty. The bike is Jamis Sputnik which I have added brakes to and added a 16t rear cog.

Please enlighten me with your experiences in this matter
The standard for cranks is 172.5 until the rider gets well over 6 feet. As far as SS bikes goes, as long as you can coast, 172.5 is right on. In regards to track bikes, the standard is somewhere between 165 and 167.5 with 170 being on the long end, mostly because of the danger of pedal strikes.

Brad

·
Registered
2 Posts