Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newb :aureola: so be easy and don't rip me a new one if the solution is something simple. Got my 1st road bike (K2 mod 6.0) the crankset is a FSA S-LK. So i bring it home from the LBS and within a few days of riding, nothing serious, just the left side crank arm is noticeably loose :mad2: . So i tighten it, not too tight as I don't have a torque wrench yet and don't want to mess anything up but I'm sure it was tight enough and I got out for a few miles and its loose again. Any pointers at all as to what i should do? :confused:

· Registered
984 Posts
I sounds like the splines on the shaft and crankarm do not fit closely enough. If this is the case, you will never be able to keep the crankarm from loosening. FSA may say to use blue loctite on the splines but the real issue is poor machining and poor quality control. You may have to send the crankset back to FSA for replacemnent.

· Registered
5,358 Posts
The crank is probably toast- once loose the splines will wear quickly. But you can try- follow FSA's assembly instructions which include both low-strength loc-tite on the splines and torquing to a specific value (either 32 or 36 ft-lbs, I forget). You can find the instructions on FSA's web site.

But since it's a new bike I'd just take it to the shop you bought it from and have them deal with it.

· Registered
902 Posts
ericm979 said:
The crank is probably toast- once loose the splines will wear quickly.