Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
likes to eat donuts
827 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using titanium crank bolts for the past 3 years, as well as an ISO (square taper) bottom bracket with a titanium axle. I've been using Loctite Anti Seize compound to prevent galling, and have had absolutely no problems with this combination. Until this month, that is.
I have begun to have a problem where the crank bolts, and especially the left side crank bolt, start to loosen as I ride.
I DID try thoroughly cleaning all of the threaded surfaces and applying Loctite Blue before re-assembling, but that didn't help at all. The left side crank bolt again came loose just 30 minutes into my ride.
I am confused as to why this is occurring, as the bolts remained perfectly tight for the first
2 1/2 years of use? Any ideas?

Thanks. :)

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
Generally, crank bolts on square taper cranks loosen because torque during the crank installation was insufficient. The bolt actually doesn't turn, but the insufficiently tightened crank moves up (into the frame) on the axle taper as you ride. As it does, pre-load on the bolt is reduced more and more.

I wonder if the Loctite Blue prevented you from getting sufficient torque or gave you a false torque reading during the crank installation or crank re-tightening? I'd take it all apart again, clean off the Loctite, apply grease or anti-seize and torque to specifications.

·
likes to eat donuts
827 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
the problem continues

I have done as wim suggested. I carefully and thoroughly cleaned the threaded surfaces, applied Permatex Anti-sieze, and torqued to the proper specifications. After a one hour ride, both crank bolts had loosened significantly, especially the bolt on the left side. I re-torqued, rode again for about 1.5 hours, but again found that the bolts had loosened.