Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys - I need some technical info on crank types.

Can I swap out my 2008 Kona Jake the Snake FSA Gossamer MegaExo Compact 46/36 with a Ritchey WCS Road V Crank 50/34 compact double? Trying to keep the same B/B (FSA MegaExo) if possible. Long story short, I need more top end gear for the flats and low end for climbing. I have never done a crank removal before. My first glance at the two cranks looks like they are not compatible :confused: The Ritchey's are Shimano Octalink compatible I think. Not sure about the FSA Gossamer though. Are there any special tools I need to remove the sprockets/arms? Will I need to replace my chain with a longer one?
The other thing I am worried about is the Ritchey's are 172.5mm arm length and my FSA's are 165mm, is this something that could effect my bike setup/ergonomics, mainly my knees? Seems like I would have more leverage....with the 172 jobbies :)
I am a newbie......any simple input on this matter is greatly appreciated.
Was going to try and do the swap myself instead of LBS. Save a little $$
Thanks in advance.
Cheers! :thumbsup:

· Registered
214 Posts
you will need an octalink BB.

I recall reading that Ritchey issued a recall on their cranksets? can't remember if it was on here or velonews/cyclingnews.... someone will chime in with the specifics.

find a local member and see if they will help you with the crank swap and bike fit.

· Registered
232 Posts
First off...its very doubtful that your Jake the Snake has a 165mm crank arm length. You should check it again...its probably 175mm

Second, why not just swap out chainrings on the FSA crank. You don't need an entire new crankset to get a 50/34 combo...just replace the chainrings.

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·