Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Looking to purchase my first gravel bike. Mostly it will be used on the road (sometimes gravel)
They have a different crankset option and I'm looking for either 48/32 - 11-34 or 46/30 -11-34. The question is what is the difference? Which one will be better for the road? The bike with 48/32 i suppose should be faster, but will i notice the difference in speed on the road?
I'm new to all this aspects
Cheers

·
Huge in Japan
433 Posts
No single answer.

I recently picked up a bike with 48/32 having been 50/34 for quite a few years. The fact that I am not getting any younger, the terrain that I myself ride and the evolution in range of cassettes made this a wonderful move for me. I feel like could go 48/32 on all of my doubles. This doesn't mean that you or anyone else will feel that way though. What drive train setup are you most accustomed to and what do you want to be different about it?

·
Adorable Furry Hombre
30,172 Posts
What is 'gravel' where you live. What kind of surface? Packed dirt? Chipped limestone? Fire roads? Pea gravel? How steep a gradient, and what kind of a seated hillclimber are you? Do you do any touring?

Either are great for offroading, 46/30 is as low as doubles on roadie BBs get. Shimano has a 48/31 that is a compromise gearing that I personally like--you get the high gear for paved road cruising and bombing downhills while getting almost the same low-end gearing.

·
Registered
947 Posts
Depends on your terrain mostly. Flatter/rolling, go with the higher gearing, longer sustained climbs, go with lower.

·
Registered
8,520 Posts
How strong of a cyclist are you? How flat or rolling or mountainous of a terrain are you riding? Compare the gearing that you're riding now with what you're shopping for and see which fits you better. You can use this calculator to compare what you are riding now to what you are shopping for.

·
Registered