Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm looking for a new frame and am considering a standard steel frame or a custom aluminum frame.

My budget is set at $1000. For that price, I can get a custom 7005 aluminum frame or an "off the shelf" steel frame (Soma, Surly, Gunnar).

My proportions aren't too odd and standard frames usually work for me. I have a lot of experience with Aluminum and Carbon, but am itchy to try to understand why "steel is real."

I've also heard that the quality aluminum with the right geometry can provide as smooth and lively a feel as steel.

Thoughts?

Ray

·
Registered
2,745 Posts
I don't see any point in getting a 'custom' bike unless you have a particular need/desire to get something that isn't available stock. Nor do I really see the point in getting a steel bike simply because it's steel.
Sounds like you need to identify exactly what you want from a bike instead of just what it's made out of.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hank Stamper said:
I don't see any point in getting a 'custom' bike unless you have a particular need/desire to get something that isn't available stock. Nor do I really see the point in getting a steel bike simply because it's steel.
Sounds like you need to identify exactly what you want from a bike instead of just what it's made out of.
you're absolutely right...thank's for stating the obvious.

If the issues was solely materials, I'd go with carbon. Unfortunately, I've experienced carbon failure and am looking at alternatives.

Obviously, fit is the greatest factor in riding and the assumption is that whether it be aluminum or steel, the bike will fit.

I'm really soliciting opinions from people who have had experience with custom aluminum and off the shelf steel. There is very little written about custom aluminum and I'm looking for first-hand experiences.