Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be getting a new cross bike soon and I would like some advice on pedals . I am pretty much looking towards SPD as I have those on my MTB, any recommendations on specific models or should I go to a different brand

·
Registered
7,492 Posts
:thumbsup: Eggbeaters :thumbsup:

·
Registered
37 Posts
Shimano makes a good clipless pedal, that won't break the bank. I've been using them on my MTB for 3 years now with no issues.

·
Registered
3,444 Posts
If you race in muddy conditions, the spds may become an issue. They don't clear mud as well as other systems. The Crank Bros. stuff is tops for mud clearance. So Eggbeaters or Candys would be my suggestion. The Time ATAC and Look Quartz are also very popular choices, with better mud clearance than the spd stuff. But they all work. So if you are comfortable with your spds, stick with those, but I would recommend their higher end pedals for weight savings and a bit better mud shedding.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
krisdrum said:
If you race in muddy conditions, the spds may become an issue. They don't clear mud as well as other systems. The Crank Bros. stuff is tops for mud clearance. So Eggbeaters or Candys would be my suggestion. The Time ATAC and Look Quartz are also very popular choices, with better mud clearance than the spd stuff. But they all work. So if you are comfortable with your spds, stick with those, but I would recommend their higher end pedals for weight savings and a bit better mud shedding.
Thanks for the recommendations , I think I am going to stick with the SPDs, in a race mud shedding capabilities will be the least of my problems.

I had heard that XTR was the Shimano to go for.

·
Registered
1,348 Posts
BadBoyNY said: