Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Maybe someone could shed some light on this subject for me. I have been cycling for over 3 years now and have only lost 10lbs(currently 220lbs), which I think the weight lose is a combination of my better eating habits combined with cycling. I recently consulted a personal trainer about my lack of weight lose for the amount of time I put into cycling(at least 30 miles a day, 4 days a week, and a 60-70 mile ride every Saturday). I have asked a couple people that ride more than I do and all I hear is ride more to lose more. I wouldn't consider the mile I put in to be what some call "junk miles", but I have been doing intervals for about 6 months now. I do notice a difference in how easy it is to ride faster for longer after doing intervals, but at what point is to much riding for little to no return in weight loss?
The personal trainer said that cycling is a great cardio exercise and definately helps tone your lower body, but is not great as sole weight lose tool. He said that if you cycle regularly for more than an hour you may be hindering your weight loss by training your body to burn energy more efficiently(endurance) and not wasting it. He made the analogy that it's like taking two equal size cars, one with a big V8, and the other with a fuel sipping inline 4. Gasoline representing fat, you would want your body to be to become a big heathy V8 that burns more gasoline(fat).
I honestly don't know if this makes sense, but he then said drop down to 2 days a week and suppliment weight training for the remainder of the days I would normally ride. Is there any truth to his statement? Can in fact riding to long be hindering my weight loss?

· The Dropped 1
670 Posts
I can't answer your specific question, but for me personally I've found I can keep my weight down (and drop it) with weight training. I don't take time away from riding to lift, though.