Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
naranjito
785 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many people have cycled with a one-year-old? He won't be pedalling - he'll be in a seat on the back, but as I've never done it before I wondered if anyone had any advice.

I really wanted a trailer to be able to pull him along, but I've not been able to find many here, and the only one I did find was very expensive, so I think I'm going to buy one of the child seats that fit on the back of an adult bike.

When we go, there'll be three of us (mum, dad, and the little one). How about a helmet for him? Do they come that small? (I'll have to measure his head, but he'll turn one this month and is large for his age)

thanks

foz

·
Registered
599 Posts
I started riding with my son at 14 months. He has a 95th+ percentile head, and the smallest Giro helmet just fit him. The main thing with kids this small is that they can easily support/control their head and have sufficient neck strength.

I don't have any experience with child seats. I got a floor model trailer from Performance that was very reasonably priced and works great. Personally, if I end up falling off the bike for some reason, I'd rather my kid be strapped inside a trailer than up high on a seat, but that's just my preference. Plus the trailer has the added benefit of being able to haul stuff with you to the park, etc.

·
Registered
896 Posts
IMHO, that is too young for a bike seat. at that age I used a trailer. especially with a helmet(a law in most states), the little one will have trouble keeping their head upright, not to mention the rolling along and cozy interior quite often puts them right to sleep. I used one of those soft neck collars to help support their heads. that said, they usually ended up flopped over at some horrible looking angle that would have us(adults) at the chiropractor in no time.

·
Registered
449 Posts
Trailer