Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

· Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Can you recommend a decent and inexpensive tool set with all the necessary tools to replace a road bike chain?

Lately, the shop has been replacing my chain with crappy or used chains. I'm a beginner, but I want to start doing this on my own.

I see tons of products at Amazon, but I don't know which to choose.

Eventually, I also want to change my cassette, but that's another story.

Thanks.

· Registered
6,079 Posts
1. You need a tool that allows you to push a pin out so your chain is the proper length. For most bikes, the out of the box length is too long. I find the cheapo Park or Lezyne tools work just fine. Just make sure its for the right chain (e.g., don't use a tool for a 9-speed chain on an 11-speed chain).
2. You want to use quick links. Toss the pin that comes with a new chain and buy appropriately sized links. They are so much easier and so much more secure than a pin.

· Banned Sock Puppet
17,776 Posts
I get 5000miles out of my chains, why are you replacing them so often?
How do you know how often he is replacing his chain? He didn't state anywhere how many miles his chains are lasting. Are you psychic?

· Registered
21,868 Posts
How do you know how often he is replacing his chain? He didn't state anywhere how many miles his chains are lasting. Are you psychic?
Reading between the lines of the OP it sounds like chain replacement is a pretty regular thing. It would be unusual for a beginner to be riding so many miles that they were changing chains multiple times per year.

· Banned Sock Puppet
17,776 Posts
Reading between the lines of the OP it sounds like chain replacement is a pretty regular thing. It would be unusual for a beginner to be riding so many miles that they were changing chains multiple times per year.
Maybe he isn't using the best chain lube with PFM. :ROFLMAO:

· Registered
9,597 Posts