Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
okay here is my problem. I didn't have a problem at all with my new Special Ed Allez other than flat tires and I've had it almost 5 months. (I LOATHE flat tires!) Now I have a problem that I can't figgure out. I adjust the rear dreaileur to work properly on the big gear, but when I shift into the little gears the chain starts jumping. So then I adjust it for the small gears, and it just jumps on the big gears. ("jumping" is when the chain trys to ride off center of the sprocket it's supposed to be aligned with for unknown reason...) I have tried adjusting it to perfect alignment on the center most sprocket, but when I do that the chain jumps on both the big sprocket and the small sprocket..

Okay so I'm a total and complete newbie to road biking. I have wanted a fast sleek bike for some time, but always seemed to end up buying a mountain bike instead. I have crashed only once and that was right smack into the side of a big pruple dodge pickup that pulled out infront of me at an intersection when I was flying down a steep hill. I saved myself and the bike by doing a spectacular front dismount right onto the pavement and rolling into the truck glancing off it with my unlucky shoulder. (OUCH!) I cracked the housing on the brake hood (uhh it's a..... gotta go look.... shimano Sora Flightdeck) Anyway It worked fine anyway until now. I went to the trusty LBS and had a new brake/shift assembly put on it. It's the same exact thing that came on the bike. Now it won't work worth beans. I don't know if I should just try taking it back to the bike shop or what.

I also found a banged up area on the deraileur looking like it smacked pavement. I had originally thought that the barke lever housing was the only thing wrong after the crash.