Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI everyone-

I'm a designer new to the road bike industry and I'm looking for a little insight into "seat bags"

What seat bag do you own? and how was your experience with it?

What's are some important features for your seat bag?

What would your dream seat bag be?

Thanks for your help. :)

·
Darling of The Lounge
4,798 Posts
My wish list:

1. Has a mounting bracket that attaches to the seat rails. Also comes with a couple of extra brackets, so you can transfer the seat bag when you have multiple bikes.

2. Have an separate section in the bag where you can stow a thin jacket/windbreaker

·
Pedal Master
2,511 Posts
A fitting system (velcro or whatever) that actually FITS SNUG AGAINST THE BOTTOM OF THE SEAT. Seems like a no brainer, but I'm on my second wedge-style bag in 2 years and both required me to use zip ties to get the bag snug and eliminate the feeling of a dof tail wagging behind me.

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
2 straps around the bottom, for attaching a windbreaker or other oversize object. The straps have to be long enough for sizeable objects,but be tightly out of the way when not in use (i.e., not dangling at all), and also be easily adjustable and have a quick release ability.

·
Registered
962 Posts
I the only saddle bag that I have used is a pedros bag that is nice a tiny.

Think about making it out of some strenchy fabric. That way the rider won't have stuff rattling around.

That said I gave up on saddle bags. I carry those things in the center jersy pocket.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Blackburn flite seatbag. They haven't made these for a long time, but they were the best. Most of the bag fit up above the seatrails so it made very efficient use of space. Wish I could find one of these now.

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
Mahatma Kane said: