Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thoughts and experiences with electronic shifting for cyclocross racing?

I'm looking at an Ultegra-equipped bike, and wondered if Di2 matters one way or the other.

For the record, I've never even ridden a bike with electronic shifting.

·
Registered
9,658 Posts
I haven't done any cross racing but since I started riding a cross bike off road I've managed to mangle two rear derailleurs. I'm certainly glad the replacement cost was $80 and not $220 (retail Ultegra level prices). Granted I had a string of bad luck (and bad skill) in a short period of time but I'd have to think dinging things in cross is a strong probability.

Functionality wise I'm sure it would be fine. My only point is to consider replacement costs (and off course up front costs).

At least try it first though. Personally I don't like electronic shifting. It's a 'feel thing' not any critique of performance. It works great especially the front shifting (which you might not care about on a cross rig).

·
Registered
456 Posts
I have several friends who have been on it for a couple of years with no complaints, I almost bought my new cross bike with the Ultegra Di2 but got a better discount on a last years model with Mechanical Ultegra and went that route.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Just installed a 1X Di2 system on my new Santa Cruz Stigmata. Ultegra Di2 Hydraulic Brakes with an XTR Di2 RD. Works great. Haven't crashed yet but I can tell you that 1X with a clutched RD, a la SRAM CX1, is absolutely awesome for CX. The build process was much easier due to not having to terminate cables, etc.

I like it so far but we'll see how I feel if I crash and f'up a $388 rear derailleur.

·
Masters Neophyte
2,209 Posts
It's fantastic w/ one caveat- if it's a crazy-cold race and you wear very thick gloves, it is really hard to discern when you hit the proper shifter.