Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First I would like to say Thank You all for having me. I am a newbie to road interests and have spent most of my years riding mountain bikes, except for a few years where I used my 10 speed drop bar box store bike for transportation.

I went to the Local bike shops yesterday to get fitted for a road bike/cross bike. I am looking for something that will roll freely, cover some miles (10-20 per session) and maybe use for a commuter when I move back to a bike friendly location.

I am 6ft tall, 33 inch inseam, 239lbs muscular build. Once I get to riding alot I will be around 225lbs which is where I hover at when racing dirt bikes.

Ok, to the bikes. The 3 bikes I have found I really like were as follows.

Giant Defy 5 in Large, I trust the Giant name and the bike comes highly reviewed. The lack of disc brakes does bother me a bit as I like the consistent and powerful feel of discs that arent affected by an untrue rim (in the event I damage a rim) The local bike shop has a 2016 for $599 which seems like a great deal.

Another bike I like is the Diamondback Century. I have owned 2 Diamondbacks in the past and they have served me well. This is my favorite bike as far as looks go, and I like that I get cable disc brakes for almost the same price as the Giant Defy 5. Nobody has this bike locally so i will have to assemble it (no big deal) and dial it in myself. The price is $640 shipped, and according to Diamondback website I need a size XL which is a 58cm vs the Giant Large (57.5cm)