Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the road cycling world. Picked up a spankin' new 2007 Trek 1000 today. Started looking at new wheelset and ran into a question. What's the difference between CLINCHERS and TUBULAR road wheels and tires? Does one use a tube and the other uses glue to secure the tire?
Help me out here, I don't want to purchase the wrong thing.
Thanks,
Kevin

·
Adorable Furry Hombre
32,323 Posts
krh101975 said:
I'm new to the road cycling world. Picked up a spankin' new 2007 Trek 1000 today. Started looking at new wheelset and ran into a question. What's the difference between CLINCHERS and TUBULAR road wheels and tires? Does one use a tube and the other uses glue to secure the tire?
Help me out here, I don't want to purchase the wrong thing.
Thanks,
Kevin
See:
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/tires.html

·
Registered
453 Posts
You have clinchers, that's what you should get for now. Tubulars are generally used by pros, old-timers, and people who like having that special something that tubbies bring to the table (never ridden them (yet) so I couldn't tell you what that is). However, they are difficult to mount until you're used to it, and they tend to be more pricey than a comparable clincher.

G

·
A more basic question

Since I assume that the bike you bought came with wheels and tires, why are you looking at new wheelsets??

The wheels that came with your bike will be perfectly fine for anything you want to do with the bike for at least the first few thousand miles. If you then decide you want to race or do something else you could conceivably look at new wheels but even then I would question the wisdom.

There is a tremendous emphasis on these boards for new wheelsets, climbing wheels, racing wheels, training wheels, etc.