Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
THe LBS I bought my bike from installed Look Keo Easy pedals however, I was billed for Look Keo Classics. Does anyone know the major differences between these two? I'm not sure if I should go back and tell them they charged me for the wrong models pedals. Or if they are basically the same..

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
Retail difference is about $40, with the Easys cheaper. The Easys lack tension adjustment. I'd tell the LBS to either exchange the Easys for Classics or give you some store credit.

As a side note, the Easys are 40 grams/pair lighter than the Classics. Normally, less money means more weight.

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Do I need pedals with tension adjustment? Or should they last me a while before I decide to upgrade for better performing ones? I just started riding and these are my first forray into the clipless pedal world.

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
If you're happy with the Easys, you don't need it. Tension adjustment refers to a screw or knob that you turn to increase or decrease the force it takes to clip in and clip out. Only if you find yourself clipping out unintentionally more than two or three times, you need pedals with tension adjustment so you can connect yourself more securely to the bike. Has nothing to do with pedal durability.

Keep in mind that more tension with Looks also means harder to clip in and clip out out. Some pedal brands separate the cleat holding force from the clip-in and clip-out force. That's a nice feature because you can be connected bomb-proof, but still have easy-in and easy-out..

·
Registered
40 Posts