Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
1,931 Posts
Welcome

Nurgen Pete said:
Hi gang!
I'm a bit of a novice regarding the world of classic Merckx' frames. Would anyone care to help a guy out with a little guide to some of the different models?

Thanks! :thumbsup:
Not an expert, just a happy owner, but you can start on this blog, he has a lot of info about the classic Merckx

http://www.tearsforgears.com/

b21

· Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've read most of what's available there, but never
really managed to figure out what the key points of difference are between the different models

MX Leader
Corsa
Professional
Arcobaleno
etc.

I assume there are differences in the tubing used, stiffness, geometry, intended use, etc.

Might prove a handy guide to other Merckx novices out there too :)

· Registered
1,931 Posts
Nurgen Pete said:
I've read most of what's available there, but never
really managed to figure out what the key points of difference are between the different models

MX Leader
Corsa
Professional
Arcobaleno
etc.

I assume there are differences in the tubing used, stiffness, geometry, intended use, etc.

Might prove a handy guide to other Merckx novices out there too :)
Try doing a search here; I know Toomany and others have talked about the differences of SL and SLX and the MAX tubing and the history of the Professional. Might take a little work but worth it.

http://www.equusbicycle.com/bike/columbus/columbuschart.htm

is a great tubing source

B

· Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sweet. Thanks for the link!

Wifey's a couple of days overdue with our first child, so I've got plenty of time to search through old threads looking for info on old school Merckx. (Riding is out of the question in the name of domestic peace) :p

· Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Nurgen Pete said:
Sweet. Thanks for the link!