Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· likes to eat donuts
893 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few days ago I purchased a pair of Sidi Genius 5 road shoes, to replace a pair of Adidas Adistars that I had been using for the past 2 years (broken strap). I first wore the Sidis on Saturday, when I did a 1 1/2 hour ride, and noticed a slight pain on the outside edges of my feet, especially the right foot. On Sunday, I did a 2 1/2 hour ride, and the pain in my right foot became almost unbearable. I contemplated stopping to remove the shoe, but managed to tough it out to make it home. It took about 4 or 5 hours for the pain to subside.
I've never experienced that kind of foot pain while cycling before, and the Adistars felt like I was wearing slippers compared to the Sidis Today, I took the shoes back to the store from where I purchased them and explained the situation, but I was told that there was nothing that they could do for me, as I had worn them. Of course I had worn them.
I am understandably quite upset and somewhat surprised about these shoes. I have owned 3 pair of Sidis in the past, with no problems at all.
Today, I ordered another pair of Adidas shoes, and will now have to try selling these handmade Italian torture devices on e-bay.:frown5:

· Registered
3,230 Posts
cleat placement. either angle or fore/aft or both.

you may also benefit from insertion of a wedge (although the typical problem remedied with a wedge is a hot spot on the inside).

'tain't the shoes, fella. Sidi makes a great shoe. I mean, your feet just plain may not like them, but I'll bet the problem can be addressed, if you want to pursue it.

· Deliciously Ironic
1,015 Posts
Double check width

Sorry to hear you've given up on them so fast.