Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm looking for some opinions on whether using a Powertap or SRM is a good idea for races. More specifically, my question is if there is a huge MARGINAL benefit to having wattage measurement during races as opposed to just training. I have no experience with either tool, so your informed advice is appreciated.

The purpose of my question is to know if a SRM-style tool would be a better choice for me. If having power measurement for races is really important, it seems that an SRM-style tool is a little cheaper (Quarq for $1500) than 2 powertap SL hubs, 1 training wheel build, and 1 carbon tubular race build. I already have suitable race and training wheels sans Powertaps.

For what it's worth, i competed in a race today and I felt that:
1. I wouldn't have looked at a powermeter readout DURING the race because of the tight pack.
2. An extra 1/2 pound for something i wouldn't look at during a race might be foolish.

What do you think?

·
For president!
7,802 Posts
Without getting into the value of looking at the numbers, don't you race cat 4 in central park? Until you are doing hill climb or hilly road races at a reasonably high level, that extra weight is close to meaningless. The extra cost of building up two sets of wheels is also a bit silly, can't you build up one decent set of wheels and use that for training and racing?

·
Registered
681 Posts
Race data is some of the most important you'll collect. Mostly for post-analysis and seeing what happened before you cracked or whether you didn't do well because you were feeling weak or whether the race really was especially difficult. Some may feel that the power reading might limit them, for them, they're better off taping the display. Others like to use the readout useful for metering their efforts e.g. off the front or on a long climb. But the most important is post-race analysis.

·
Registered
98 Posts