Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
420 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got done on my first fully fixed ride (just built up the bike yesterday). About a 12 miler and I am SPENT! I came home and just for comparison, went for a cruise on my geared roadie and man, I felt like I was flying! Everything seemed so effortless. Made me love that fixed gear bike even more and also appreciate the roadie. Maybe "appreciate" isn't the correct term, but I think you all know what I'm saying. Now having ridden both, I don't think I could do without one or the other.

Looking forward to many more miles on the fixed and even faster/easier miles on the roadie. :D

·
eRacer
2,555 Posts
It probably depends on what you want to do with your bike, but once I started riding FG, I haven't gone back to the road bike. If you are into hills and racing, that's one thing. I haven't been on my road bike in a long time. Once you get hooked on FG, you don't want to coast and you enjoy spinning along, smooth and quiet. I think you still 'appreciate' a good road bike, but you get 'hooked'. It's a 'good' disease!

·
Registered
1,048 Posts
My geared bike is usually dusty and has nearly flat tires since I also got completely hooked on fixed riding a few years back....though on the rare occasions that I do ride it am reminded that it is a REALLY nice bike....gonna ride it more this year as my hill climbing has definitely deteriorated since the switch

·
Registered
3,094 Posts
For me it isn't a case of one "or" the other. It's one "and" the other.

·
Registered
505 Posts
ukiahb said:
...my hill climbing has definitely deteriorated since the switch
wow. riding fixed has without a doubt produced the single biggest improvement to my climbing of anything else i've ever done. and i see that claim repeated a lot. i'm not sure what you're doing, but something ain't right.

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
Depends.