Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm selling my road bike on craigslist, a 2012 Scott Speedster S10, and its the first high dollar ($1000+) thing I've sold on craigslist.

Anyways a guy hits me up via text about and first asks all these questions which I had clearly answered in the ad (ie. how old is it, any dents etc). Then he insists on paying with paypal. I'm a little sketchy about that because i've never used it before, but it appears to be an ok method of payment.

However, the guy says he cant get off work and would send someone to pick it up for him. He is trying to give me payment before he even sees the bike for himself which seems odd.

Does this sound sketchy to you guys? Is it reminiscent of any other scams you have heard of? I thought paypal was safe, but my whole interaction with this person so far has been a little weird.

thanks for any insight

·
Registered
2,486 Posts
Yes, run away. Very quickly. Its a stolen paypal account. When the credit card people figure out guess who loses the money and the bike. You do.

Craigsliat is for CASH. In a very PUBLIC place. Anything else is a scam.

Please let us know how it goes.

Bill

·
Registered
1,904 Posts
Do not do it with PayPal. Like crossracer said, cash only and a public place. You could even agree to meet at a police station so that you both feel safe. Remember, he is the one bringing $1000 cash with him. You can never be too safe.

·
corning my own beef
5,713 Posts
Yeah, when the buyer is attempting to dictate all the terms of the "sale" ...... the red flags ought to be waving.

·
Cranky Old Bastard
2,337 Posts
Yes, it sounds like he is planning to rip you off.

Paypal is a rip off.

Paypal protects buyers but often cheats sellers. A buyer only has to make up the tiniest lie and paypal will take the money back, and if you've spent some they can freeze your entire bank account.

And they even charge you (the seller) 3%.

·