Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi just thought i'd mention to everyone on a low carb diet that if you ride frequently and alot you really dont need to be on one to lose weight.
Before i started riding i was on a low carb diet and lost alot of weight mabye a bit to much. Then i started riding i found after about 1 hour id feel CRAP on the bike. I started racing a found i ran out of energy alot.
I wanted to win races and feel good when i was riding so i started eating more. Bread with jam, pancakes or cereal and lot of it before a ride. Lollies, bananas, energy drink on rides over 2 hours. I'd have massive sandwhiches when i got home and coke glasses of milk, coffee or milo, big dinners and guess what i still lost weight. But most importantly i felt great on the bike i could ride for 5 or 6 hours with a bunch (I ride with sponsered cyclists that are 10-20 year older that me now), i got stronger and faster in a short period of time.
Any way i know this is a long post but i just wanted to say if you ride alot you dont need to be on a low carb diet to lose weight infact you dont even need to be on a diet. For example when i do a 4 hour ride i get about 2000+- calories on my HR monitor that s alot of food. Eat to ride the weight will come of naturally.

·
Registered
199 Posts
The older you get the harder it is to keep the weight off. When I was in my 20s I could eat anything and sit around and still lose weight.
Now at 41 I can ride a lot and eat like a bird and still gain weight.

·
Registered
2,250 Posts
My breakfast this morning. Seven 8" homemade blueberry pancakes with plenty of syrup, oatmeal, 4 peaces of toast, two bananas, and a salmon patty.

For dinner last night I had half pound of pasta with chicken breast.

No one can eat like this and stay slim, but a cyclist can.