Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow Colnago fans! Let me just start out by saying that I know I am blessed to be having this "dilemma", and needing advice on this. With that said, I have been riding a 2004 C50 (in NL4) for about 5 months. I got it used, and put some older parts on it for a demo period to make sure that the frame was what I was looking for before building it up into my dream bike with new parts at some point in the future. In short, I really like the
C50. I would describe the ride as stable, refined, and comfortable - very confidence inspiring. Its looks are tough to beat as well.

I am having second thoughts now, however, about making it my dream bike. This all came about when I was recently given the chance to try out a Casati Mistral with Campy Record and Shamal Ultra wheels for some extended rides. The Casati is a much different bike. It is a compact geo frame and is less than 900 grams (vs 1320g for my C50). The Casati complete bike is about 3 pounds lighter than my C50 as they are currently built. With identical parts, they would be a little over 1 pound apart (I do understand that different wheels and parts make a difference in the way a bike feels, but I think I can attribute most of the ride differences to the different frames – sizing is also pretty much identical).