Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, newbie here, greetings to you all.

With my wife's blessing, I am building a dream bike. I've selected several frames:

Pinarello Prince

2009 Ridley Noah

2009 Look 595

Specialized Tarmac SL2

With the exception of Tarmac SL2 (life time frame warranty), those European brands have 2 years to 5 years warranty. Pinarello Prince is especially shocking, it is the most expensive frame I listed here, but came with only 2 years warranty.

All these are great frames, but paying $3000 to $5500 for a frame without lifetime warranty does bother me a little. I love the beauty of the Prince and it is unique, Tarmac SL2 has a life time warranty but everyone has one.

Question 1: If it was your money, which of these frames would you buy?

Question 2: Does warranty really matter when dealing with these top bicycle makers?

Thank you,

David Chen (aka Flyingtiger)
Elk Grove, California

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
flyingtiger said:
Hi guys, newbie here, greetings to you all.

With my wife's blessing, I am building a dream bike. I've selected several frames:

Pinarello Prince

2009 Ridley Noah

2009 Look 595

Specialized Tarmac SL2

With the exception of Tarmac SL2 (life time frame warranty), those European brands have 2 years to 5 years warranty. Pinarello Prince is especially shocking, it is the most expensive frame I listed here, but came with only 2 years warranty.

All these are great frames, but paying $3000 to $5500 for a frame without lifetime warranty does bother me a little. I love the beauty of the Prince and it is unique, Tarmac SL2 has a life time warranty but everyone has one.

Question 1: If it was your money, which of these frames would you buy?

Question 2: Does warranty really matter when dealing with these top bicycle makers?

Thank you,

David Chen (aka Flyingtiger)
Elk Grove, California