Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
420 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been maintaining my bikes my self for the last 7 years, and I've never come across anything like this.

I repacked my rear hub and lubed the cassette body. Then I cleaned and lubed my chain and cassette, put everything back together and my drivetrain is ridiculously noisy and it feels like there is a lot of friction in the system somewhere. I took the hub apart again to make sure everything was lubed properly. The wheel spins freely and easily in my stand and the crank also spins easily with out the chain attached. I took off the chain and checked for stiff links, no issues there. The jockey pulleys are all installed correctly and spin freely. However, its feels noticeably more difficult to spin the crank by hand when in the big ring on any cog in the rear and there is lots of noise coming from the cassette despite 4 different re adjustments. Of particular note, when turning the crank very slowly by hand with the bike in the stand and the rear wheel able to spin, the crank will will spin and then get to a point where the friction increases then with a little more force it will break through that barrier and keep spinning till the next one. I can't notice any definite periodization to that, but it happens often. This made me think of the wheel bearings, but I've checked them twice, and even if there was something a muck with the bearings, that wouldn't explain the noise... I'm stumped...

Any thoughts? Please help!

·
Registered
1,846 Posts
Just to be sure, is the chain threaded correctly through the RD and not rubbing on a tab on the cage between the pulleys?

Try running the cranks and chain with either no wheel, using a chain keeper if you have or a coke bottle held where the wheel would be and see if it runs smoothly. If so the problem is in your rear wheel.