Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am by no means a bike mechanic and am seeking some advice from those of you who are.

My drivetrain is noisey and unsmooth....kind of like pedaling in a cross over gear. It kind of grinds almost.

It is by far the worst when in the highest gear with chain in big ring in front and small sprocket in cassette. In that combination it really grinds. It is particularly noticeable when you put it on a repair stand and pedal with your hand. You can feel and hear the grinding.

My bike is a Lemond Victoire and I have a Sram Force crankset and BB combined with Dura Ace rear derrailleur and cassette (I think the cassette is a Dura Ace). Chain I believe is Dura Ace too.

Drivetrain is a 9 speed and the crankset is a 9/10 speed compatible.

What do you think is the problem? Is it a function of mixing and matching components? Is it possible my cassette is worn? Or is it more likely a function of derrailleur just not being properly aligned?

It's annoying.

I will bring it to me local shop to get worked on but I hate being without it so I want to get a headstart on what the problem may be before I bring it in.

thanks

Matt

·
classiquesklassieker
3,113 Posts
bowler1 said:
Hi,
I am by no means a bike mechanic and am seeking some advice from those of you who are.

My drivetrain is noisey and unsmooth....kind of like pedaling in a cross over gear. It kind of grinds almost.

It is by far the worst when in the highest gear with chain in big ring in front and small sprocket in cassette. In that combination it really grinds. It is particularly noticeable when you put it on a repair stand and pedal with your hand. You can feel and hear the grinding.

My bike is a Lemond Victoire and I have a Sram Force crankset and BB combined with Dura Ace rear derrailleur and cassette (I think the cassette is a Dura Ace). Chain I believe is Dura Ace too.