Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· I lowered my cholesterol!
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding a road bike since August 2004. I've logged about 6200 miles. I'm 52 so I chose a bike more conducive to my age and what I planned to do, and that was ride pretty much flat trails for fitness and heart health (Specialized Roubaix). At purchase, I elected to reverse the stem for more incline to my handle bars. I began by almost exclusively riding with my hands on the hoods, but last fall I began to stay in the drops almost all the time, for aerodynamics, speed and for comfort (I was surprised, my back could stand it). My problem now is that my typical long weekend ride will be from 40 to 60 miles long, and the positioning puts more pressure on my seat, creating more numbness in the crouch and later in my hands. I tried flipping the stem to return to the hoods, but I experienced far too much pressure on my hands and a feeling of falling forward. For those of you without aero bars, where to you place your hands most of the ride? Are these irritants simply the result of longer and longer rides. By the way, I don't take it easy out there. My average speed is 19+ MPH.

· Cycling
288 Posts
my 0.2

longer rides might have something to do with it, but, how about looking into a different saddle, or using spacers to move up the bar slightly, not like with flipping your stem where it will move a great amount. Try using many positions too.....change it up every 5 min or so.....I find that in races if you want an aero position that dosnt hurt your hands do this:

Rest your forearms on the top of your HB then grab your brake cables......making sure that if you are moving them that the movement is towards you. You get the benifits of aerobars, w/o the cost..........i have used this move in more than 3/4 of my races and it defineitely works.
Just be careful over potholes.