Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am trying to plan some wheels for a probable all white Look 585. That's why the white dt mon chasseral is a favorite. I also like the idea of having something a little different from all the mavics and shimanos out there. I'm no expert, but while being light and stiff, it has 28 spokes front and rear and uses dt's reliable components. Does that make it a pretty durable every day wheel for a few rough roads as well?

There were some issues with dt's rr1.1 single eyelet rim, which the mon chasseral still uses front and rear. The wheelset has a 90kg limit, I'm 85kg now, but am 75kg (160lbs)and under at my peak (stopped riding for a while). The regular dt 1450 uses a rear with double eyelets and is a bit heavier, but isn't available in white, which is kind of important to me.

I want a durable every day wheel, that's also quite light and stiff for climbing. White rims would be great and a rare wheel is a plus. Is the dt mon chasseral a good choice? What's the latest with the single eyelet issue? Any other suggestions?

· Growing Older, Not Up
1,321 Posts

· Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. I've seen some of the threads, but a few are a couple of years old and I wanted to know what the latest verdict is about these wheels. Some were saying that only very heavy riders were having problems with the single eyelet rear rim. Others that it was actually the 32 hole rims which were more affected than the 28s. Maybe there were more problems with the rim on custom builds but not with the mon chasseral built wheelset. So I'm just wondering if anyone knows the latest info. Or better, if people have had these wheels a while and can testify to their durability and reliablity along with weight, stiffness and comfort.
Dumalam

· Increase your member
56 Posts