Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
818 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As some of you may have noticed, I've been sitting on the fence for a few months now wrt gearing. I live in Portland and am prepping for Cross Crusade races. I've done ok in the few races I've entered with 38/46 12-27 gearing.

At the moment, I'm putting Campy on my Redline Conquest, 13-26 cogs, and have a Centaur UT CT crank (yeah, i know.)

I'm debating about which combo of 36-38-39 x 46-48 is optimal(?)...

Any advice, as always, is most appreciated.

Tim

·
Registered
119 Posts
Currently on the training bike; 38/45 12-26

Disclaimer: Crusade races are too big for me (crowds). I prefer the smaller races, so for perspective;

Hood river- More than enough gearing for the climb back to the start/finish.
Gresham- A 34 would have been useful here. The mud was thick. I was worn out by the 38.
Pshyco cross- Tough call. The first course had alot of climb. I was out of gas by the end of the race. The second course was alot easier, I felt like I could've pushed a 38.

I don't know if any of this will help, just more information......I have been working hard all winter and feel like I can push the 45 / 12-26 combo through just about anything, and am seriously considering the single ring setup with a 42. I think the simplicity and weight savings are worth it. Oddly enough, I've got a 46 on my race bike now and sometimes have a hard time pushing it. 45 seem to be as much as I can muster on the training rides?

Best of luck! I've got rings if you'd like to try various combos. Currently onhand and not being used:

5-bolt 110 34, 38
5-bolt 130 44

I'll send you a ring or two if you think you can use them, they are just sitting around the shop.

B

·
More Cowbell!
4,832 Posts
I ran 38/46 for a while and thought it was great. Now I run 38/44 and think it's the cat's pajamas. I stay in the 44 for most races. Horning's was the exception.