Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm trying to decide which fork to put on a 2008 Jamis Ventura Elite I'm putting together. Right now I'm considering an Easton EC70 Aero versus a Reynolds Ouzo Comp. Both are carbon with an aluminum steerer and price is similar.

I have no experience with integrated headsets or carbon forks and am trying to find what might work best for both. Got the bare frame and have about all I need to build it except fork and headset and want to make good choices. Need something fairly stiff as I'm over 200 lbs, though trying to get under..lol..

Any thoughts woud be appreciated.

Thanks,
KL

·
monkey with flamethrower
821 Posts
There are lot's of great forks out there.
Alpha Q makes superb forks. Maybe their CS-10 or CS20 would work for you and are comparably priced to the Easton.
Or you could keep it real witih steel and buy a Vicious cycles steel fork.
But I strongly advise not to purchase any Reynolds fork, as Reynold's is no longer in the fork biz. That will lead to issues if you ever have a warranty claim in the future.

As for headsets, just get a Chris King. You may whine about the price now, but you will never ever have a problem with a properly installed King headset, even after 15 years has gone by and the headset has been installed in half a dozen bikes.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. Didn't know Reynolds was out of the fork biz. I can get the Easton for @ $100 which is cheap.

Chris King. Yes, the best but doesn't make an integrated headset, do they? Thought they were strongly opposed to integrated headsets..

·
monkey with flamethrower
821 Posts
KL322 said:
Thanks. Didn't know Reynolds was out of the fork biz. I can get the Easton for @ $100 which is cheap.

Chris King. Yes, the best but doesn't make an integrated headset, do they? Thought they were strongly opposed to integrated headsets..