Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Currently riding an 08 Tarmac Expert with the stock Fulcrum 5s. Pretty happy with my Fulcrum 5s but ready to move on to a carbon clincher.

It looks like the street price for Reynolds Assault and the Easton EC90 SL are pretty similar these days. Obviously 38mm vs. 46mm for approximately the same weight. Easton's have better hubs (ceramic) and spokes (Sapim) it seems like. Everyone is raving about the Easton's braking performance and build quality as well.

I'm 5'9" 145lb so handling is a bit of an issue for windy situations.

What would you guys buy for an everyday wheel?

· Registered
5 Posts
Eastons +1

DrJordon said:
Any One, Any One, Bueller, Bueller...

I want to know the same thing including the attacks....
I've been riding Attacks as everyday training wheels for approx 18 months. I've broken more spokes (front and back) in this time than all my other wheels combined (been riding for over 10+ years). I'm not a big guy (135lbs)...just haven't had any luck w/them.

· Cycle Boy
470 Posts
I just got that wheelset and THEY ROCK. I'm 145 lbs as well and do quite a bit of climbing and flatland rides. In both situations they are awesome. My previous set was an aluminum Custom build (which was very nice actually) but I wanted something that was more aero as well, but light enough for my climbing. The only thing you must make sure is that you get the 2010 model. It has the proper pre-load adjusters on the hubs. The '09 ones are manually adjustable, but the new ones require a 19mm cone wrench.

You can check out my cycling site for more pics and my ride descriptions of the wheels:

www.thecycleboy.com

Enjoy the Eastons if you get them!!! Oh, and BTW, the braking is pretty darn good - just make sure you break them in by squeezing the brakes often to get pad residue on the contact surface :thumbsup:

· a$$hole
372 Posts