Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:confused:

I have a question. I've signed up for a century and am following the "easy century training-to ride 100 miles" found here....http://www.diablocyclists.com/RiderTips/EasyCenturyTrainingProgram.htm

and in Bicycling magainze.

My question is, the longest you ever ride in this plan is 65 miles during week 8 and week 9, then week 10 you jump to 100 miles. I'm currently in week 2 and everything is going fine, but just wondered...isn't that a big jump at the end? Thanks for any advice/support.

8 weeks and counting!!!! :D

·
tofurkey hunting
4,733 Posts
i don't know for sure, but i hear from a reliable source, that (at least in the bicycling article) the person who followed this regimine barely finished the century....and well after everyone else at that. when a good number of the rides revolve around <20 miles....i'm no expert, but this seems a bit suspect to me. again, same anonymous source tells me that bicycling had a more "agressive" plan for a century in that issue. perhaps it was more realistic.

·
Looks fast, rides slow
266 Posts
I guess the important question is: do you want the century training to be easy or the actual century to be easy? 10-week of training with only one 65-miler at the end sure sounds easy to me, but I doubt you'll have equally easy time on the actual ride with that little mileage.

I'm also training for my first century, and from everything that I've heard/heard it's wise to do at least one 75-miler before the big day. Maybe you can squeeze in longer rides near the end of your training?

K-Zero

·
50ft. Queenie
1,154 Posts
gigemaggs99 said:

I have a question. I've signed up for a century and am following the "easy century training-to ride 100 miles" found here....http://www.diablocyclists.com/RiderTips/EasyCenturyTrainingProgram.htm