Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone been told that their ECG suggest the left wall of the heart is enlarged? My doctor things this is because of my cycling and having a thin chest wall. I guess at 130 pounds and 5 foot8 the program on the ECG reads my result as LVH. She said that one study she saw sugggest that 40% of competive cyclist showed this on their ECG but less then 5% really had any change in heart structure (by echocardiogram). But because of the 5% I need a echo anyway.

·
Registered
282 Posts
don't have that, but i do have an extra beat every now and then. wore a monitor for a day and got an echo. diagnosis: nothing is wrong, i am just one of those people. get checked out...when they tell you nothing is wrong you will feel much better! also, did you see your regular doc or a cardiologist? i work in the medical field and one thing i know for certain is that most docs don't know crap about things outside their field. i'd definitely go see a cardiologist if you haven't already.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Just went through echo stress test

I had an EKG done as prep for some surgery. The results were read by a computer and sent up a "red flag" that I'd had a heaqrt attack. My doctor didn't agree and opted to send me for an echo stress test which turned out just fine. I did learn a bit about the test that might be of some help. I insisted that they not use the 220-age calculation for my max H/R. I'm 58 but my max H/R has been checked at 185. I figured that as long as I was going through this test with everything being monitored and a doctor present, I might as well get checked right up to where I train. I found it was a lot different trying to walk/run straight uphill on that treadmill than working out on the bike..LOL I was sore for 3 days .

·
n00bsauce
13,507 Posts
That's all fine and dandy