Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using Eggbeaters for the last two years and love the pedals, but have been a little disappointed recently.

I ride these pedals on my cross bike, so they probably have 2 - 3k miles on them. I didn't rebuild them until recently when I noticed play in them. I bought the rebuild kit and rebuit them. It was simple. The play is less, but it is still there.

Called Crank Brothers. They said I should have rebuilt them every six months and, since I didn't, the pedal or spindle body has probably been ground down. Therefore, this isn't a warranty issue.

This kills me because Ilove these pedals and the company and I feel dumb for not taking better care of my equipment.

I just wanted to hear feedback from other eggbeater/candy users and see what kind of rebuild schedule you follow. Do you do a rebuild every six months? Use the grease gun more often?

Just interested.

· Number 2 on the course.
4,405 Posts
I have three sets of Eggbeater SLs, all from 2005 or earlier. I've never performed the slightest maintenance on any of them. I use these for CX season and MTB, so pretty much year round for the duration. I just checked them all and not a hint of play. I'd say the maintenance interval is roughly every 6 to 45 months. :D

I did manage to crack a Candy.

· Registered
41 Posts
It seems to varry a great deal with some ignoring them for many kms while others doggedly rebuild them every season.

My luck ran out at the weekend when my eggbeater decided to stop turning during a mtb race (an odd sensation). I stopped and jiggled it around for a while and it began turning again, albeit with a good half inch of play in the spindle! I probably did my pedal in just the way you did, but I may have just stripped the nut which holds the spindle on. I will disassemble and investigate.