Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
6,841 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Rate the level of difficulty of the following endurance sports in order of most difficult to least: running, xc skiing, rowing, cycling, swimming

1. running
2. xc skiing
3. swimming
4. rowing
5. cycling

comments?

·
Registered
2,006 Posts
1) swimming - I die if I fail
2) running - bones and ligaments just break apart.
3a) xc skiing - always has the highest v02 maxes
3b) rowing - right there with skiing
5) cycling - can coast for days.

·
Registered
2,238 Posts
rowing in a skull type racing rowboat for endurance distances. who could stay cooped up in a wee boat for endless hours? At least a runner, cyclist, skier can stop walk around stretch, grab refreshments from road stand.

but I have no experience doing endurance anything other than century rides

·
Huge in Japan
456 Posts
Hardest to easiest:

Swimming - it's hard and if you can't do it you die.
XC skiing - it's hard and I hate the cold. All I know is that too long in the cold and you die so I avoid it.
Running - this is what I do if something is going to kill me. "Oh my God I'm going to die in this situation" invokes running as a natural reflex"
Rowing - it's hard. I picture people in life boats doing it to avoid dyeing.
Cycling - it's easy for me and without it I think I'd die.

I don't want to die. Ever.

·
Registered
29 Posts
1) swimming. An activity designed soley to keep one cool while drinking beer should never be turned into a competition, unless that competition includes the drinking of beer.

2) the rest are equal.

·
Registered
6,841 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·